Our Schools

Our schools

CCMS is the managing authority for all Catholic maintained schools in Northern Ireland. Our schools were originally founded by the trustees of congregational orders, educational trusts, and the dioceses of the Catholic church, and are now 'maintained' on our behalf by Boards of Governors. Boards of Governors are made up of representatives of parents, teachers, the Department of Education, the Education Authority and trustees.

Catholic maintained schools make up over 40% of all schools in Northern Ireland. In 2022/23 there were 31 Nursery, 354 Primary and 56 Post Primary Catholic maintained schools. This includes 1 Irish Medium Primary School, and 7 Primary and 3 Post Primary Irish Medium units.

Our schools are part of the wider family of Catholic education institutions world-wide that enrich the lives of children from pre-school to third level education. They are funded by the state and teach the same common curriculum as all schools in Northern Ireland through the lens and values of catholic education.

The benefits of catholic education are described in our 'Delivering for Communities' publication and key qualities of our schools include:

  • Our outcomes - we are all ability schools that do not require an entrance test to move to post primary
  • Our ethos - we teach through the gospel values of love, faith and hope
  • Our welcome - we embrace diversity and welcome children of all faiths and none

No events found
St Kevin's College, Lisnaskea had the honour of hosting a significant cultural event on Monday 29 April 2024, with the esteemed presence of Mayor Wu Zhiling of Huangshi City Hubei, Madame Zheng, the Chinese Consul General to Northern Ireland and Dr Y
St Macartans, the Forth Chapel launch new resource for primary schools.
CCMS Lisburn, Third Floor, Linen Hill House, 23 Linenhall Street, Lisburn, BT28 1FJ
028 9201 3014
© 2024 Council For Catholic Maintained Schools